Commit in a way that will not waver with feelings. #sentencesermons

patrick-fore-23064.jpgIn chapter 1, Naomi tells her daughters in law to go back and make a life for themselves after their husbands die. Ruth replies:
16  “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. 17 Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord deal with me, be it ever so severely, if even death separates you and me.”

Ruth is committed to God, and she is committed to God’s people. She is committed to the call of God on her life.

In Ruth chapter 3, we see Naomi trying to set Ruth up with a handsome guy they met.
Naomi lays out a plan for Ruth. She says take off the garments that signify you are in mourning. Prepare yourself to move on with your life. Go and hang out at the “grain heap,” Its where all the magic happens!

So Ruth does and Boaz comes in dinner late one night and he falls asleep. The scripture says that Ruth uncovered his feet and laid down at them. In this time it was custom that let him know she was interested in marriage.

Boaz wakes up, Ruth says: take me under your wing. Take me, I’m yours. Commit to me. Be my guardian redeemer.

Boaz shows the same commitment to God and God’s people that Ruth did. They were two peas in a pod. He says yes, despite obstacles, despite criticism, despite the risk, despite what I might lose, YES I will say yes to call of commitment.

Even as people of God, we very often decide who and what we will commit to based on our own selfish desires.

We decide to stay or leave relationships based on if we’re happy or not. We decide to commit long term if it’s working for us. We decide to end or begin friendships when they aren’t taxing to our own lives.

The call to commitment that both Ruth and Boaz knew very well, and the commitment that Jesus modeled and asked from us, has absolutely nothing to do with SELF.

It has nothing to do with how we feel. It has everything to do with who and where God is calling you too. Once you know that, to set up your tent, dig deep the foundation, and commit in a way that will not waver with your feelings.

Leave a Reply

